Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / Karthikeyan Natarajan

Adding igoogle Gadgets to Google Desktop sidebar

The Story: Adding Google Tasks as desktop gadget.
In Browser, I was using the “Tasks” of Google in Gmail interface. I wanted to place it in my desktop as gadget so that i don’t need to open my browser to check my tasks every time. I searched for igoogle gadget and found the link for the tasks gadget.
http://www.google.com/ig/modules/tasks.xml
I used Desktop web item (in Windows XP) which gave my desktop an ugly look by disabling transparency of icons. I installed the Google desktop and searched for “Tasks” in Add gadget search. I could not find it.
Today, I found this tutorial from web which shows how to add any igoogle gadget as google desktop gadget.
I just searched http://www.google.com/ig/modules/tasks.xml in Google desktop add gadget search, and i added it. Now i can add the tasks from my desktop and i can see anywhere in the world. Even we can see Tasks in mobile by visiting gmail.com/tasks in mobile.
The Content:
1. Find the gadget you want in iGoogle, and add it to your “home”.

2. Click on the drop-down menu, and pick “Share this gadget”
4. Copy the “url=” portion of that link, starting with http, up to, but not including, any additional parameters.
5. Open the Google Desktop’s Add Gadget dialog
6. In the “Search” box, enter the URL
7. Click Add.
(Note:Some gadgets need you to Sign in. So open internet explorer and sign in permanently. )
Comment if you like it.. 🙂
Leave a Reply

